Please enable javascript to view this page in its intended format.

Queen's University
 

Genealogy

Queen’s University Archives was established to provide resources for academic research at the University. For this reason archivists at Queen’s have not deliberately sought genealogical material to add to the resources of the Archives. Nevertheless, over the years, a great number of very useful genealogical resources have found their way into the collection.

Our primary genealogical resource is the Dr. H.C. Burleigh fonds. Compiled by Dr. H.C. Burleigh, this collection of records includes genealogical information on over 900 local families, along with information about the areas in which they lived.

Another important resource is the records of Queen’s University. These records contain a good deal of information about students and staff, both past and present, that may, with due regard for the University’s regulations on Freedom of Information and Privacy, be used to answer genealogical questions.

Other useful documents include the Ontario Land Registry Copybooks and Land Registry Index for the area; the McDowell Register of Presbyterian marriages, deaths, etc.; the City of Kingston Records; Assessment Rolls for City of Kingston and Frontenac County; D.A. McRae and Sons, Funeral Directors, Vankleek Hill; and Ewan Ross Collection, Glengarry County

There is also a large and useful collection of microfilmed material. This includes the Ontario Cemetery Records Collection; Sir Frederick Haldimand Papers; Loyalist Studies Microfilm Project; Ontario Archives Land Record Index; Ontario Probate and Surrogate Court Records, 1763 – 1961 and so on.

Other Genealogical Resources for the Kingston Area

Please note that as some of the following institutions do not keep regular office hours, it may be beneficial to phone ahead to confirm before visiting them.

Kingston, Ontario, Canada. K7L 3N6. 613.533.2000